2021 Princess Grace Awards Summit

September 20-22, 2021
All events held virtually

Photo: Cheeyang Ng (Theater 2021) at Joe’s Pub. Photo credit: David Moriya

Princess Grace Awards Summit and Celebration Leadership Committee


Chair, Jon M. Chu


Melia Bensussen, Chair of the Arts Advisory Board | Bridget Carpenter | Chinonye Chukwu | Carly Hughes | Bruce Lemon | Jared Mezzocchi | Darrell Grand Moultrie | Tiler Peck

The Princess Grace Awards Summit is an annual event for the new class of Princess Grace Award winners and honoraria recipients. A series of panels and conversations curated by the Foundation and its Princess Grace Award winner alumni, its purpose is to build meaningful conversations around artistry and practicalities of being a working artist, as well as opportunity for relationship building/networking across disciplines and years.

In 2021 all Summit events were virtual.

Monday, September 20

Noon – 1:30 pm ET | 9am – 10:30 am PT
Welcome Session

Facilitated by Melia Bensussen (Theater 1990), Brisa Carleton, Diana Kemppainen
For participants only, no observers

 

4 – 530 pm ET | 1 – 2:30 pm PT
Artist Round Table with Jon M. Chu (Film 2001)
Filmmaker and Princess Grace Award winner Jon M. Chu (In the Heights, Crazy Rich Asians) leads a roundtable discussion around artistry and the filmmaking industry.

 

Tuesday, September 21

2 – 3:30 pm ET | 11am – 12:30pm PT
Artist Round Table with Carly Hughes (Theater 2003)
Acclaimed Performer Carly Hughes (Pippin, American Housewife) leads a roundtable discussion centered around being a performance based artist (i.e., dancers and actors) and when your artistry involves being an interpreter of work.

4 – 5:30 pm ET | 1pm – 2:30pm PT
Making live performance-based art in 2021
Led by Bruce Lemon (Theater 2016) and Jared Mezzocchi (Theater 2012)
During the pandemic, theater was happening but not in venues/spaces. Theatermakers Bruce Lemon (Artistic Director Watts Village, Associate Artistic Director Cornerstone Theater and host Unheard LA) and Jared Mezzocchi (Director and multimedia designer, educator) lead a conversation around the relationship between live art and physical space, and how that connects to related conversations about dismantling value systems that overvalue hierarchy, and making space for diversity.

Wednesday, September 22

Noon – 1:30 pm ET | 9am – 10:30 am PT
Planting the seeds for success

Led by Darrell Grand Moultrie (Choreography 2007)
Choreography and educator, Darrell Grand Moultrie leads a conversation around the artistic process, and how artists can value each job as an opportunity for career development and growth, building connections and valuable skills for artistic success.

4 – 5:30 pm ET | 1 – 2:30 pm PT
Closing session

Facilitated by Diana Kemppainen and PGF team 
An opportunity for the 2021 Princess Grace Award winners and honoraria to share take aways, connect and share virtual space together.